How NOT to Broadcast Your Updates on LinkedIn

shhhThe one thing that used to drive me crazy about LinkedIn was any time I tweaked something on my page, it sent a notification to all my contacts. It would cause me to either do updates in the middle of the night so notifications were buried on news feeds, or just not do them.

I do not think my networked cared that I was being overly anal about word choice and felt the need to change one word in my summary.

Now I can tweak to my little hearts content and they are none the wiser.

Just as a refresher, here are the instructions to be able to make tweaks and not announce it to your LinkedIn world:

  • Click on Profile
  • Click on Edit Profile
  • Look on the right side of your page, you will see a green check mark with a down arrow next to it with the words “Notify Your Network?”
  • Click on “No, do not publish changes”
  • Click on the pencil icon next to the section you want to tweak
  • Save

Tada!

Great, right? But there are status updates that might still be broadcast, unless you have made other changes. These include:

  • Connections – unless you have chosen to hide your connection list
  • Group activity – unless you have turned off the option in your group settings
  • Sharing of content
  • Liking content
  • Following a Influencer, Channel or Publisher

Of course, you may want your network to be notified if you have created a whole new profile and it is fabulous – why not? Be proud, show it off!

But for little tweaks that you want to make and not broadcast it – just look for the little green check mark and keep that between you and LinkedIn.

Lisa K. McDonald, CPRW
Brand Strategist & Career Coach
http://www.CareerPolish.com

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s